Moments….. they won’t last!!!!!

images (2)

The gap between me and the bus was increasing and i felt a strange adrenaline rush of disappointment and sadness running through my body. The bus was gone……… the time was gone……. the moment was gone…… SHE……. was gone!!!!!

images (4)

How many times has it happened in your life that a beautiful but strange incident occurred and ended forever, leaving you behind with memories of those moments and false hopes of reliving them…..?? even if for just one more time. A handful i suppose, since you can remember each and every detail of it, still. One such incidence happened with me as well, which was strange, beautiful, funny, cute, sad and yea also…. wet!!! (those who have drawn that smirk on their face, stop that there itself and those who are shocked, wait till i reason it…… it was raining that time!!!)

IMG0621A

It was the month of July 2008, i was in the Gujju land (do not confuse it with Gujjar land), Ahmadabad. Many have this misconception that Ahmadabad is the capital city of Gujarat, but actually it’s Gandhinagar…… Trivia for my kind readers (and dumb friends!!). Anyways, i had come down to the city for my summer internship (an add on to the sufferings one has to go through while doing engineering), which was to last for 2 months. Torrent Power was the company i got selected for my internship (to know more about the company please Google, this blog is not just for trivias please).

I was staying at my uncle’s place in Gandhinagar and the power plant was in Ahmadabad, but the distance was not too much (for a Delhite, consider Delhi-Gurgaon, for a Mumbaikar, consider Andheri-Vashi, for the rest…… the distance was around 20 -30kms). So, i use to get a bus directly for the power plant, as it was on the highway and renown enough to have a bus stop for itself. Thus, my everyday routine was to leave in the morning by bus and come back home in the evening (by not the same bus obviously…… Or may be!!??).

images (5)

That morning it was the same, normal, routine start, except that it was raining quite heavily and except that, what happened in the next one hour made my day intrigued and stamped a moment to cherish (and repent) in my mind forever. I was waiting at the bus stop holding my umbrella, trying to squeeze myself within its periphery to safeguard myself from getting wet (there….!!! u see… rain it was….). Unaware and not much interested of people around me, i was just eager to step onto a bus as soon as possible, when suddenly; a very subtle, soft, “Barbie-doll” kind of a voice (i know that’s too much clichéd, but bare with it) hit my ears. “Does the bus for Sabarmati stops here??” she asked. I was too involved in adjusting my umbrella according to my bludgeoned body and the direction of rain. “yes” is all i replied without even looking at the girl (its getting too filmy isn’t it?? Wait for it then…). The bus arrived and along with two of us, few more gujjus boarded the bus. I found a safe and spacious corner and stood there, just to find out that the same girl was already standing there (No…. i didn’t chose that spot for this). To my surprise, she broke the silence and asked my to hang the umbrella near to hers…. so i did. What initiated next was something, normally a guy always looks reasons for, when with a cute looking girl. A set of couple of questions regarding me suddenly turned into a rapid fire round. She looked all interested in knowing about me, my likes and dislikes, past….. My first ever media interview…… i felt!!!!   I didn’t waste much time to make it a two way conversation and showed interest in knowing about her. Soon we were the centre of attraction for the entire bus ‘cause of the laughs we were sharing, were loud and open as if we know each other from inception. The depth of interest into the conversation turned so much that it was almost after 20 minutes of our departure from Gandhinagar that we got to know each other’s name.

images (6)

The same distance from my uncle’s house to my work station which use to look endless, suddenly got minuscule. I totally lost the hang of time and journey while talking to her, just concentrating on her eyes which were staring straight into mine, her face, which drew a picturesque smile every now and then, her hair, which were drenched in rain water putting a subtle shine to them. Amidst all this, there occurred a moment of silence……… a moment of conversing without uttering a word……. a moment of feeling attracted. Suddenly i realised that my stop was arriving and i haven’t asked for her contact number yet (neither did she). In that moment of silence, i was making my mind up and deciding how to approach her to ask her number. I was not sure (still not) but i could feel from the way she kept looking at me, that she too wanted me to ask for her number (what the fuck are you waiting for dumbass….. ask me!!!!). While the recipe of pick up lines, to ask for her number, was still cooking, my stop arrived.

images (3)

I didn’t wanted to go to work that day. I wanted to carry on my journey ahead, in the bus, with her, standing side by side, talking, laughing…….. Feeling!!!!! The bus halted, we bid goodbye and hugged each other (Yes!!!! We hugged). I still remember her last words to me, “bye…. good luck…… hope we meet again” she said. I got down from the bus but didn’t move from the stop. The gap between me and bus was increasing and i felt a strange adrenaline rush of disappointment and sadness running through my body. The bus was gone……… the time was gone……. the moment was gone…… SHE……. was gone!!!!!

 images (7)

Rarely, such beautiful incidences occur in your life. I say, don’t hesitate….. do what you feel you should…. do not let it make you repent later……. do not miss the moment, ‘cause that moment won’t last for long, ‘cause its for this reason that they are called moments….. Make Them Count!!!!!

images

2 thoughts on “Moments….. they won’t last!!!!!

Leave a comment